Home > bee hive, beekeeping, bees, honeybee, Uncategorized > Beekeeping with Kids

Beekeeping with Kids

I love the first view of the colony, just after I take off the inner cover. All those little bee-heads (now, probably 20,000) staring up at me. Maybe our own house isn’t that crowded, after all.

We had a great family hive inspection this afternoon. Two of my kids are showing definite signs of beekeeping interest. They had to trade off using the one extra veil, but still had a lot of fun. They’re certainly more fearless than I am. And their adventurous natures paid off with an audience with our queen.

Latifah on 2nd frame of top box
As soon as we closed the hive, the foragers started returning–many with pollen baskets full of bright orange, golden yellow, and tan pollen.
It was a gorgeous (that is, un-foggy) day–and our other creatures enjoyed themselves, as well:
New bottle of sugar water on 5/20. Add third medium brood box in a week?
  1. jess s
    May 23, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Dang, your ladies are moving right along. I just added my second box yesterday. I keep waiting for the population to dip (which I read should happen after 4 weeks) but it seems as crowded as ever in there. Have you noticed a population reduction?

    I love the different colors of pollen! It’s like magic. The red henbit pollen is my favorite, no reason in particular.

    Beekeeping is an awesome hobby for kids. I wish I had gotten into it earlier!

  2. May 23, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    I’m sort of wishing I’d added the third box today. Frames 1 and 8 on the top box didn’t have drawn comb, but I have swarm-phobia. I really want to keep this colony. No sign of queen cells, though, so I should probably chill out.

    Your pic of the different pollens in cells is the best I’ve seen. They’re like little jewels.

    I bought a veil today–the only kid-sized one in stock. Will order another, since we seem to be raising a colony of beekeepers, as well 🙂

  3. jess s
    June 2, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Krista took that photo! It’s so funny – she stands nearby with the camera, taking gorgeous photos when I point “This! Get this!” with her hoodie pulled tightly over her head. She needs a veil, too, but maybe it would interfere with the composition of the photos.

    Is the kid-sized one, like, a six year old’s size? I feel like our kid could probably use an adult-sized one since he’s almost 14 and we’d get more years of use out of it. I really need to call up the bee supply lady (since we don’t have a wonderful store like HMSB!!!:)

  4. February 6, 2013 at 8:13 am

    Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article post.

    I wanted to write a little comment to support you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

